Skip to content

Why I Work in the P.O.

May 10, 2011

Today was my first day at my new job: I’m a mail clerk at my university’s post office.  My boss is Post Master Vern.  He’s a retired Marine and probably the nicest guy you’ll meet.  I also know he’s got  jokes and (I hope) great stories.  But today, I was on my own, faking my way through the day.  There is something nice about the cramped BU Post Office during the summer.  It’s mostly calm with just a few folks popping in through out the day.  This may be the perfect job for a charming loner like me.  I’m hoping I can make a Eudora Welty style short story out of it.  Fingers crossed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 9:19 pm

    It’s summer in the South. The stories should be there for the taking. As my friend Jen Morrison says to her students “Pay attention. There’s a story there.”

  2. May 10, 2011 9:36 pm

    The title of your post makes me very happy and your Mother very proud. I’m sure of it.

    btw – We charming loners need to stick together.

  3. May 10, 2011 9:36 pm

    Damn Lisa you beat me in.

  4. May 10, 2011 9:56 pm

    Thanks, Ken. My favorite English professor got me hooked on Welty last fall, so when I got the job, the first thing I thought was, “this is perfect for a post title!”

Leave a Reply

